It has been so long since I posted here, over a month in fact.  It’s not because I haven’t wanted to, I am just so exhausted with all the house renovation work we are doing, it is utter chaos in our house and I haven’t had the energy to write here as well as everything else.  Since this post on our demolition so much has changed with the back of our little house, so I really want to show you where we’ve got up to soon.

Early evening today I went for a lovely, frosty walk at my favourite place – Dunham Massey.  Not around the National Trust park this time, but just around the fields and lanes of this pretty little village (I like to pretend I don’t have to get in the car and drive home and in fact live in some cute and cosy cottage here).

It was such a beautiful time of day, the sky deep indigo with flocks of birds sweeping across it, the sherbet colours as the sun sunk behind the deer park walls, the frosty grass, and the hedges all atwitter with noise.

Buddy had a lovely time rabbit-holeing and going a little loopy (I think the frost and snow sends him a bit barmy!).

One of the things I loved most was all the silhouettes against the sky – I rather went overboard with taking pictures of them, so I hope you enjoy them as much as me!

Like this rather ghostly cow parsley seedhead…

Bare hawthorn branches…

The silhouette of an elder tree with just a few leaves clinging on…

Looking through the hedgerow to the sunset…

Back at the car I couldn’t resist capturing the glow of this streetlight against one of the pretty cottages in the village – does anyone else enjoy seeing houses at night with lights glowing from inside them, I always want to peek in.

And finally, it seems I must admit that Christmas is on it’s way…

