Home DIY

Today’s post is dedicated to my dad, a fellow DIYer, always keen to know what we’re up to.  So this was today…

It seems like it’s been forever since we got our grubby clothes on and got stuck into a good bit of DIY and demolition (at this point Mr Rigg likes to imitate Ty from Extreme Makeover: Home Edition – don’t tell him I told you).

In just over a day’s time we will be starting the final bit of our home improvement plan, five years after we bought this little end terraced cottage.

Blue-grey front door with pale pink roses

We are determined to do the final push to finish off our house so that we can sit back and enjoy it.  We have been slowly sweeping our way down the house, starting with our two upstairs bedrooms, then our main living area (two old cottage rooms knocked into one), and now we are on the home leg – the kitchen, bathroom (downstairs) and what was a manky porch.

This was said manky porch…
Ugly porch

It is the porch/lean-to/conservatory/boot room/pile of yuck/whatever you wish to call it, that we have targeted today.  As I type it has gone, and all that remains is what looks like the remnants of a Roman settlement.  My husband is mad, he’s even swept it out!  I love him for it though.

Remains of porch

We started this morning, removing first the door and corrugated plastic (::shudder::) roof and beams.  I must insert here, that when I say “we” this predominately means Mr Rigg with me on the sidelines offering encouragement, tea and biscuits, and snapping pictures.

Removing backdoor

Removing porch roof

Maybe posting this will teach him not to ruin my pictures with silly faces…
Silly face

A good bit of crowbar action to remove the wooden sills.  I got my go with the crowbar later on the door frame.

Crowbar demolition

Wooden sills removed

Then a slower dismantling of the sides, full of shot double-glazing – it’s been misty ever since we moved in and never have I been able to look from the kitchen window down the garden to watch the rabbits in the garden, or the birds on my seed feeders.  Soon I will (and at the moment I can because there’s nothing there any more).

Removing windows

Happy DIYer

Windows removed

Then it was time to sledge-hammer the wall down.  Mr Rigg and I share a number of interests, one of those is most definitely sledge-hammering and demolition.  Thankfully, we’re not too bad at putting things back together…eventually.

Knocking wall down

Buckets of rubble

Knocking wall down

So next week the rebuild starts, we have a guy coming to do the brickwork and then later a joiner who’ll be fitting a window in the wall on the side (where the old door was), double doors at the end (so excited about these!) and the roof with skylight.

Porch taken down

Then we’ll be working on the kitchen and bathroom with Mr Rigg and I doing more of this ourselves, replacing a few kitchen units and door fronts, a new worktop, repainting and new floor – it’s a bit more unknown in the bathroom.

Now it’s all about resting up for the evening, eating some good food, lighting a fire and watching a film together.  Hope you are all having a productive or relaxing weekend x

