Seedheads and blue skies

I am ever-so thankful for the beautiful sunny (if rather chilly!) autumn days we’ve had over the weekend and at the start of the week here in Cheshire – particularly so, because less than a week ago I was still soaking up the heat and basking under spotless blue skies in Greece.  I’ve got so many lovely things to share from our holiday but before that I wanted to just enjoy a few snaps of all that I love about an English autumn.

There are pumpkins at the farm shop, I can’t help but fall in love with all those shades of orange – I just wish the little punks in our neighbourhood wouldn’t see a pile of them by my front door as a good excuse for some street football. B*%!@^#s.

Pumpkins

This morning I made some chicken stock with a leftover roast chicken carcass, I am trying harder to find time to do this and it is so satisfying to have your own homemade stock.  The best I’ve made so far went solid like jelly, which is a sure sign of its tastiness.

Homemade chicken stock

I found myself this lovely cosy grey jacket, perfect for autumn walks (and just staying cosy in the house while I work!), teamed with my favourite scarf I feel ready to face country dog walking with a smidgen of style.

Autumn coat and scarf

On my walks with Buddy around Dunham Massey I’m soaking up the bounty in the hedgerow, like these vibrant hawthorn berries and ruby coloured rosehips.

Hawthorn berries

Mine and Buddy’s shadows in the field on our walk today…

Shadows

My other essential piece of autumn gear – legwarmers.  Legwarmers in the house, legwarmers in wellies for walking.  I would probably even wear them to bed if Mr Rigg wouldn’t object…

Wellies and legwarmers

Evenings are spent walking together…

Dunham Massey lane

And making warming dinners.  This is what is currently filling the house with good smells – at a loss for what to make tonight, I’ve opted to bung together the few ingredients we have and shove them in the oven.  In there is organic chipolatas, new potatoes, 2 onions (Bob’s local onions, so the label read at the farm shop), rosemary and bay leaves from the garden, olive oil, a teaspoon of rose harissa paste, a sprinkle of fennel seeds, a glug of balsamic vinegar, and plenty of salt and pepper.

Autumn food

I’m hopeful it will be perfectly edible.

What’s your favourite thing about autumn in your part of the world?

