Family

Today my little (19) sister starts University.  I am feeling a mixture of trepidation for her, and reminiscing about my own first day of moving into my Uni room and starting a whole new chapter of my life.  I also worry that she will disappear off into the world and realise the very real possibility she could find a life far away, across oceans even, and I wonder how I would cope without her.

Me and Iz
As we both get older we seem to look more alike

Like many people, I have had ups and downs with family – those grumpy teenage years, moving away from home to go to University and the excitement and freedom it gave me, missing my parents and siblings, then starting my own life in my own home.

Fred

Deerhound

Iz and Charlie

After spending last week back home with them all, with the additions of an extra boyfriend and girlfriend, I realised again how much I miss that feeling of family.  We hung out all eight of us and the dog (after all, he is treated like the 4th child…), ate meals together, were loud and raucous, and I loved it.  It felt like a taste of what life could possibly be like in the future when my brother and sister are married, and it was blissful.

Family

Home

My family

On Friday night Mr Rigg and I cooked steak for 7, as chosen by my brother as his birthday meal.  We chatted on the patio around the firebowl, went out for dinner one night, ate a spectacular chocolate layer cake topped with mini marshmallows, and took my brother out for his first driving lesson.

Cooking steaks

Birthday cake

Driving

Last week I went on a course at the School of Artisan Food – I can’t wait to share what we made, it was utterly fantastic!

