Last weekend Mr Rigg and I headed to Cornwall for a long weekend.  In order to break up the 5 hour journey we set off after work on Thursday and made a stop-off in Somerset, staying at a beautiful B&B called Farndon Thatch.

Arriving at about 7pm we decided to stop at a local pub for dinner before checking in.  We came across The Crown Inn at Fivehead, where we were met with a warm welcome and a menu prided on being homecooked by the owners Steve and Jacqui.  Mr Rigg couldn’t resist a curry and I went for a slice of homemade venison pie.

And what a slice it was – huge, stuffed full of flavoursome meat, and possibly the best pastry I’ve ever had.  It wasn’t cheffy or fancy food, but just really nice homecooked meals, just what we needed.  We were also entertained by a stunning fish tank with living rocks and a host of unusual creatures.

Farndon Thatch is a gorgeous old thatched cottage on the edge of Puckington, the owners are full of the history of the house and have a truly stunning garden.  We ate our delicious breakfast looking out over their rolling garden and to the hills beyond – I’m pretty sure it must be one of the best breakfast table views in England.  My photo doesn’t do it justice!

After breakfast (I started with yoghurt with raspberries and plums, which I think might have been from the garden) we had a good nosey around their garden before leaving.  They have created pretty flower borders, a vegetable garden, and have lots of fruit trees that were laden down with ripe fruits.

I also couldn’t resist a bunch of garden grown flowers that were for sale outside their neighbour’s house – it is so lovely to see these tiny stalls selling homegrown fruit, vegetables and flowers.

On our journey through Somerset we spotted quite a few of them, these kind of farm gate stalls, and I just wish we had more like them around us in Cheshire.  From this one I bought some lovely green and yellow courgettes.

Our final stop before we continued down to Cornwall was to Barrington Court, a National Trust house with an impressive kitchen garden and orchard.  They press the apples from their orchards into juice and cider, some of which is award winning.  These are a few snaps from around the kitchen garden…

And I thought I had a lot of Borage…

We also discovered lots of mistletoe in the orchard…

And bees in a hidden section of the woodland…

In the house, which is empty of furniture, the bathrooms were decorated with the prettiest tiles…

Finally, before we set off we indulged in a small pot of chocolate ice cream from Lovington’s.  Mr Rigg and I reckon that with our love of chocolate ice cream we should start a guide to the best chocolate ice cream around the country.

I really enjoyed this chocolate ice cream, it reminded me of the Green & Blacks chocolate ice cream that tastes a bit like frozen mousse, Mr Rigg wasn’t a big fan.

More to come on our food adventures in Cornwall, including my new favourite farm shop.

