As I mentioned in a previous post we recently spent the weekend with my family.  My family (myself included) have notoriously different diets: my little sister is a vegetarian (but eats marshmallows…naughty naughty), my dad is gluten intolerant, my mom eats fish but not meat, and my little brother is, well quite fussy, but likes his bacon, ham and sausage. 

So finding a meal that everyone can enjoy is quite a challenge.  Risotto is often a good bet (the little brother still struggles with this a bit).  But as it was my birthday weekend, so it was about everyone enjoying their food, so we decided to make our own pizzas and let everyone choose their own toppings.  My dad was supposed to buy himself some gluten free pizza bases, but he rebelled saying they taste like cardboard (I don’t doubt they do) and that some things were worth it – homemade pizza base being one of them.

We use Jamie Oliver’s pizza dough recipe from his Jamie’s Italy book.  You can find the recipe together with my simple tomato sauce recipe here.  We put together a whole range of toppings and laid them out on the counter top for people to help themselves to.  These are the resulting pizzas:

The little brother’s ‘meat feast’ pizza: German salami and roast ham

P1120470

Notice the token piece of greenery…

P1120481

The little sister’s ‘veggie delight’: grilled peppers, aubergine and courgettes

P1120475

The little sister decided the little brother had more cheese, so after it came out of the oven she grated lots more cheese over it.

P1120484

Dad’s ‘absolutely everything’ pizza: grilled peppers, aubergine and courgettes, German salami, and Parma ham

P1120483

But he wasn’t finished there, no, once cooked he then added…rocket, basil, Parmesan shavings AND truffle oil!

P1120491

Mom’s pizza was the same as the little sister’s but she added a smattering of rocket leaves and basil oil just before eating:

P1120495

My ‘classic’ pizza (classic in that it’s what I always make): a basic margherita topped once cooked with ribbons of Parma ham and a scattering of rocket

P1120496

N was the last to make his pizza, so by this point I was tucking into my pizza and had no time to take pictures.  The little brother said he thought it was the best pizza he’d ever had, better even than Pizza Express (from him that’s saying something).  So if you haven’t made this pizza dough yet, do – it has the little brother’s seal of approval.

